Autumn Elections Results

Thank you to the 1,142 of you who voted in the Autumn Elections! That's our biggest ever turn out for an Autumn Elections campaign. We are very pleased to reveal the talented list of students who will head-up campaigns, represent the University and lead your student community over the next year. A huge well done, and thank you, to all students who put themselves forward for these positions. 


NUS National Conference Delegates:

Tobiloba Adeyemi

Amanda Sefton

Sara Cowen

Nicole Donaldson

Sharvari Chikhalkar

James Harris

Shoaib Younis

Benjamin Lockley

Yu Xu

Joshua Williams, Guild President, heads the Guild’s delegation ex officio.

Guild Policy Development Group:

BME Place – Guilherme Cardoso Da Cunha

Disabled Place – Katie Spencer

International Place – Yernur Niyetkaliyev, Alina Satheesh, Yu Xu

LGBTQ Place – Naomi Bennett

Open Place – James Harris, Xuexuan Peng, Benjamin Lockley, Shruti Das, Re-Open Nominations

Postgraduate Place – Melanie Horstead, John Okon, Uthman Mahmud

Trans Place – Alex Heighton

Women’s Place – Eleanor Thomas

Nominations will be re-opened for the final Open Place member of Guild Policy Development Group.

Guild Committee Members:

Appointments Panel – Luke Reynolds, Yu Xu

Chair of Officer Question Time – Sam Dickens

Ethical & Environmental Committee Member – Isabelle McNab, Eleanor Thomas

Student Equality and Diversity Committee Member- James Harris, Jacqueline de Vos

Senate, College and School Reps:

Senate Rep (Postgraduate Taught) – Phoebe Gill

CAL College Rep (Postgraduate Taught) – Lily Gibbs

CAL College Rep (Postgraduate Research) – Rik Sowden

EPS College Rep (Postgraduate Taught) – Tianhao Li

LES College Rep (Postgraduate Taught) – Jay Bhuta

The COSS College Rep (Postgraduate Taught) election was tied, and the result will be announced following the Tie Break Procedure

Birmingham Law School Rep (UG) – Guilherme Cardoso Da Cunha

Chemical Engineering School Rep (PGT) – Hailong Li

Chemical Engineering School Rep (UG) – Yu Xu

Computer Science School Rep (PGT) – Tianhao Li

Computer Science School Rep (UG) – George Baker

Education School Rep (PGT) – Nilima Akhtar

Engineering School Rep (UG) – Xuexuan Peng

GEES School Rep (Earth Science) – Josie Bennett

GEES School Rep (PGR) – Simeon Onoja

GEES School Rep (PGT) – Lin Li

Government School Rep (PGT) – Glenn Fellows

Government School Rep (UG) – Benjamin Lockley

Languages, Cultures, Art History and Music School Rep (PGT) – Ioanna Papoutsi

Sport, Exercise and Rehabilitation Sciences School Rep (PGT) – Jay Bhuta


Please note: all results are provisional before full ratification by the Returning Officer.

Full count sheets will be published on this webpage before 5pm on Friday 8th November.

View Autumn Elections Count Sheets 


A number of unfilled positions have been re-opened as part of the Autumn By-Election 2019.

You can apply for these positions at:


Back to News