Outstanding Teaching Awards - The Shortlist

The Outstanding Teaching Awards are now in their third year and we are delighted to share with you the staff members from each College which were shortlisted.

Picture rads Outstanding Teaching Award on a golad ribbon with a grey and purple rosette. The Guild of Students and University of Birmingham logos are also shown.

It is wonderful to see students take time to write nominations and to hear about the fantastic teaching that happens here at the University of Birmingham. It is clear that there are many staff members in every College inspiring and developing students on a daily basis – so thank you all.

There were five shortlisting panels held (one per College) that filtered though nominations from each College and shortlisted five nominations to go forwards to the winners judging panel. The shortlisting panels were each made up of five Student Reps and the Guild Education Officer, Chris Wilkinson.

The winners judging panel have the tough job of selecting the one winner from the five shortlisted for each College. This panel consists of the Deputy and Pro Vice Chancellor for Education Kathy Armour and Jon Green, Guild Education Officer Chris Wilkinson and Guild Postgraduate Students Officer Rose Bennett. The winning staff will be presented their awards at degree ceremonies this summer. We will know the winners the week commencing 22nd May.

The following 25 staff members have this year been shortlisted for the Outstanding Teaching Awards:



Lee Oakley

Deryn Guest

Nathan Cardon

Tara Hamling

Lucie Ryzova


Peter Searle

Idris Badreddine

Ronnie Meechan

Shayan Ahmed

Chris Wagstaff


Nicholas Hawes

Andrew Tobias

Jeremy Wyatt

Stephen Kukureka

Tom Chothia


Kay Logan

Jonathan Fisher

Willem Van Eekelen

Julia Daufenbach

Emma Foster


Fay Julal

George Balanos

Carl Stevenson

Gregory Sambrook Smith

Scott White


Every student who nominated was entered into a prize draw to win an iPad – the lucky winner was Harriet Richmond!


No comments have been made. Please log in to comment.

Back to News