Please log in to join this organisation.


The Lunar Society is an informal debating society open to all students and academics at the University of Birmingham. At every meeting we hold two round-table discussions about a variety of different topics, such as current affairs, art, philosophy, and politics, and all members are welcome to contribute as much or as little as they wish. Past topics have included:
- ‘To what extent is being moral more important than being legal?’
- ‘Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all of the others (Winston Churchill). Discuss’
- ‘Selective schools are bad for society. Discuss’
- ‘Should the dead have rights?’
Each symposium is overseen by a chair in order to retain order, and any member who wishes to may take a turn at chairing. Traditionally, the chair wears an academic robe to assist with identification. 

The Lunar Society was founded as an alternative to the more regulated debating societies on campus, and freedom of speech has always played an integral part of the society’s history. To ensure that freedom of speech is upheld the society follows the Chatham House Rule: those who attend are free to use the content discussed at symposiums but must not identify the speaker. 

All members are welcome to suggest topics for discussion, and as a society we don’t shy away from talking about issues that are potentially sensitive or controversial. However, we always aim to be open and accessible, and we welcome people of all political opinions, faiths, and backgrounds to come and share their views. We also hold regular socials, which has created a lively, friendly community.

The society is supported by a committee, who help coordinate topics, organise socials, and ensure a rotating chair. The current committee are:

President: Ming Ng
Treasurer: Jake Stewart
Secretary: Adam Belcher
Social Secretary: Tiffany Idle

Our Autumn 2018 meetings will be held every other Tuesday at the Guild of Students, starting on the 9th of October. Rooms and topics will be put on our facebook page, UoB Lunar Society, the week before each meeting. If you have any questions about Lunar or our meetings, either message us on facebook or email us at


Contact Us

Groups - 0121 415 8950

RA's - 0121 415 8949


Meet your officer team

Every year, a team of Officers are elected by YOU to help you get the best out of Birmingham. Each officer leads a different part of the Union on your behalf – click on their faces to find out what they do and how to get in touch…

Latest Student Deals

TOA Taxis - Call us on 0121 427 8888 or visit www.